Historical Society of
Mount Airy, Maryland, Inc.
Flat Iron Building
Preservation and Restoration
Help Save the Flat Iron Building
The Flat Iron Building, once known as the Smith Building and the Pryor Building, has existed in its current configuration since 1903, housing a number of different businesses, including a harness shop, barbershop, drug store, music shop, as well as town hall, the local Maryland State Police office, a branch of the County Library, a military museum, and the former home to the Mt. Airy Historical Society and Museum.
For more information on the history of this iconic building, check out the attached report.
Mayor Hushour formed a task force of concerned citizens and, in partnership with the Historical Society of Mount Airy and the Mount Airy Arts Alliance, is working to preserve and restore this iconic building. Fundraising efforts are underway to first obtain approximately $25,000 for a structural analysis to determine if the building is indeed safe. Efforts for restoration will commence once it is determined that the building is structurally sound and can withstand restoration efforts. For more information on the proposed restoration plan, please check out the attached reports and proposals.
Stay tuned for more information on how YOU can get involved to save this historic building. Once restored, this beautiful building can be an incredibly viable and vibrant part of downtown Mount Airy!